March 1, 2015

Review: Solitaire by Alice Oseman



Title: Solitaire
Author: Alice Oseman
Page Count: 400
Published: July 31st, 2014
Rating: 5/5 Stars

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.





With unique Characters and amazing writing overall, Solitaire has become one of my favorite books of 2014.

Incorporation of Pop Culture. Harry Potter references? Yes please! When current media is mentioned in books I find it really enhances the story and makes it much more relatable. Solitare even had a bit of a ship war at one part, which I’m sure many fangirls found hilarious yet relatable at the same time.

Minor Character Development. It is incredibly wonderful how properly developed so many of the minor character are in Solitare. They each had their own quirks, flaws and their meaning to Tori was put out very nicely. I was able to get a real feel for what each of them were like. I felt connected to all of them and they stayed with me even after I finished. Even though I would have liked to see much more of their backstories (especially Charlie), I understand this was a book about Tori after all.

Tori. I loved Tori. The cynical, sarcastic, pessimistic and extremely realistic Tori. I feel like any teen can relate to her “I don’t care about anything” attitude, and I’m sure many people have been in a place similar to her at some point in their lives, having no will to get out of bed, hating school, not feeling anything. She was an accurate portrayal of a teenager, which was extremely refreshing. She is different from anyone I’ve read before and this definitely puts her as one of my favorite characters of 2014.

Balance & Michael. Humor was well balanced in this book, so the entire thing was in no way totally gloomy. Tori’s remarks are witty sometimes but extremely meaningful at others. Plus, we had Michael Holden, who is in no way your typical YA male, and like so many of the characters was a breath of fresh air. Michael cared so much about Tori and I loved him for his personality, and his wiliness to stay with Tori.

This is not a love story.  Yep, the tagline means what it says. 

The ending. I don’t want to give anything away, but the way it was done felt extremely realistic to me, and it left my very satisfied. I guessed the Solitaire thing about halfway through, but it didn’t take away from everything else sort of coming full circle. I can’t wait for Alice Oseman’s next novel after this brilliant book!

I loved Solitaire, and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a contemporary that is more than just light fluff. 

2 comments:

  1. I can't wait for the next novel either! I love your blog and review layout. Thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog post. I have also followed your blog. :)

    ReplyDelete

I truly appreciate every comment I receive and I make an effort to reply to each comment and comment back on your blog!