May 29, 2015

Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Title: The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummins
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Genre: Dystopian
Buy it HERE
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller--set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate--that Booklist called "carefully crafted . . . chilling." "Legend meets La Femme Nikita in this dark and dangerous bloody thriller. The nonstop action of The Murder Complex kept us guessing at every twist and turn. It's a must for fans of action-packed dystopians like The Hunger Games andDivergent."--Justine Magazine

Meadow Woodson, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in the futuristic Florida Everglades. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, a secret organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is--although he doesn't know it--one of the MC's programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings

May 28, 2015

Review: Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki


Title: Branded
Authors: Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki
Published: June 28th 2013
Pages: 380
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Dystopian
Source: Sent to me by the authors 
Format: Paperback
My Rating: 5/5 Stars 
Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Goodreads
Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society.
 To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins. Sinners are forced to live a less than human existence in deplorable conditions, under the watchful eye of guards who are ready to kill anyone who steps out of line.
 Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home.
 Constant darkness.
Brutal and savage violence.
Excruciating pain.
Every day is a fight for survival.
But I won’t let them win. I will not die in the Hole.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

May 26, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books You Think Make Great Beach Reads

 Today I’ll be taking part in Top Ten Tuesday which a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.This weeks theme is: Ten Books You Think Make Great Beach Reads


May 25, 2015

Review: Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins

Title: Miss Mayhem 
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Source: Purchased
Genre: Fantasy 
Buy it HERE!


Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and her best friend, Bee, has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can focus on the important things in life: school, canoodling with David (her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie), and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

Miss Mayhem was a fun read, but I really wish it would have been more fast paced. 

What I liked:
  • Harpid! (Harper x David) At first, everything was going great for them, and I don't know if this is weird, but I sort of like when things go south for my ships. So, when things took a rather negative turn for them, and the angst began I was so excited. When my ships are struggling, it really adds to the story and makes things more exciting for me.  In the end, when two characters I’ve been shipping get together, or back together, its so much sweeter after they’ve fought for it. I don’t know if thats only me, who enjoys separation and angst between love interests as a plot device, but when it exists I really enjoy it. 
  • The Ephors. I found the whole Ephors thing very interesting and uniquely done. Plus, the twist with the Ephors at the end was totally unexpected for me. 
  • The overall plot. Although Miss Mayhem started out very slow once it picked up I couldn't put it down. I loved seeing Harper kick some ass and undergo those weird Ephor trial things.
What I didn't like: 
(I'm really sorry if this sounds overly critical.) 
  • I didn't find Harper as funny as I did in the first book.
  • I do not like how Harpers sister is dead and is barley mentioned. I feel like if her death is a recent thing it should have a bit more of an impact. Sometimes Harper comes off like she hardly cares about it.
  • Harpers Aunts just really aren't that interesting to me, and I find myself skimming over the scenes with them because they are boring.
  • I did not like Miss Mayhem as much as I liked Rebel Belle. 
I'd love to know opinions from others who have read this book! 


My Rating: 4/5 Stars





May 20, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday!

Title: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Release Date: June 9th 2015 by Dial/Penguin
With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

I can't wait for this one. The cover and title really drew me in. Just say it, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, it flows so nicely. I'll be taking part in a blog tour for this book too so be sure to check that out!

Whats your Waiting on today?