June 23, 2015

ADVENTURES AT BOOKCON 2015


Just my youtube video of some of my time at this years BOOKCON!

June 22, 2015

Balancing Blogging and School

Recently, I haven't been able to make youtube videos, type up blog posts, or read. I constantly told myself I would make time, but I just wasn't able to. A normal day for me consisted of school, track practice, dance, dinner, and then homework and studying until I couldn't keep my eyes open anymore Obviously, that left an extremely limited amount of time for me to do what I wanted, and the second I ended track was around the same time I had to start studying for finals and SAT subject tests. 

June 7, 2015

Blog Tour: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly






The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

by Stephanie Oakes

Publisher: Dial/Penguin

Release Date: June 9th 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Retelling, Contemporary, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Thriller
My Rating: 4/5 Stars


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

June 5, 2015

ARC Review: Alive by Chandler Baker



Title: Alive
Author: Chandler Baker
Publication Date: June 9th 2015
Pages: 368
Genre: Young Adult, 
Source: eARC via EW (Thanks Disney-Hyperion!)
My Rating: 4/5 Stars
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Stella Cross's heart is poisoned.
After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella receives the transplant she needs to survive.
Determined to embrace everything she came so close to losing, Stella throws herself into her new life. But her recovery is marred by strange side effects: Nightmares. Hallucinations. A recurring pain that flares every day at the exact same moment. Then Stella meets Levi Zin, the new boy on everyone's radar at her Seattle prep school. Stella has never felt more drawn to anyone in her life, and soon she and Levi are inseparable. 
Stella is convinced that Levi is her soul mate. Why else would she literally ache for him when they are apart?
After all, the heart never lies...does it?

June 3, 2015

It's the journey, not the destination. How I like my ships to end up together.

I am part of a discussion challenge this year, hosted by It Starts at Midnight and Feed Your Fiction Addiction. I haven't  had much time to upload anything to my blog lately due to school and dance but I'm trying to be more active and queue more posts. So here I go with a discussion post. 

Where I got this idea:

A while ago I was reading a second book in a series and my ship was together and everything was working out for them, and I found I felt very bored with them and the entire book as a whole at that point. This ship were previously each others "enemies" since practically Kindergarten and I missed the dynamic they had in the previous book, with their constant taunts and rivalry. That was what made me really love the ship in the beginning and without it I was just not enjoying the book. Then, something happened and they had to break up. Now even though they didn't resort back to their previous ways all of the sudden the book got so much better for me. 

June 2, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I'd Love To See As Movies/Tv Shows

Top Ten Tueday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.This weeks theme is: Top Ten Books I'd Love To See As Movies/Tv Shows