June 7, 2015

Blog Tour: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly






The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

by Stephanie Oakes

Publisher: Dial/Penguin

Release Date: June 9th 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Retelling, Contemporary, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Thriller
My Rating: 4/5 Stars


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.






I loved The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly. It was mysterious, frightening, and even gruesome at times but kept me guessing until the end. 

This book was extremely well paced, I never felt bored with it, as each chapter revealed something new about Minnows past and the community, it wasn't just fluff to get us to the big reveal at the end. 

I also really enjoyed the characters of Minnow and Angel. I actually think Angel was my favorite character, she was so tough and I liked her love of science. 

The cult Minnows family forced her to join was just complete insanity. They live in the middle of the woods, with only about 100 of them, and their practices were crazy. I wanted to shake the followers, because I just couldn't understand how anyone would subject themselves and their family members to the horrifying lives they were living in the cult. Not to say it wasn't executed well, the descriptions of Minnows life in the cult were so intense I felt horrified and frightened for her all at once. 

TSLOMB also really explores choices in life, religion, and the justice system. It gave me a lot to think about while reading, and I was left with a "wow" feeling after finishing. 

This book was an amazing debut from Stephanie Oakes and I look forward to reading more from her down the line. 



 Favorite Quotes:

"It's just that I don't think I could tolerate answering those questions, opening myself up the way some girls do with sneaked-in razor blades and the metal edges of rulers, a thousand small wounds that might end me."

"Brutality was done to me. Why not spill a little into the world, too? Just to touch it. Just to know I could."

"Even after months of healing, it doesn't take much to make me bleed." 








 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg





Stephanie Oakes is a teacher and YA author from Washington State. Her debut novel, THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY (Dial/Penguin, June 9, 2015), about a girl who escapes from a religious commune only to find herself at the center of a murder investigation, is based on the Grimm fairy tale, "The Handless Maiden."

THE ARSONIST, her second YA mystery through Dial/Penguin, is scheduled for publication in fall 2016.








2 comments:

  1. This one immediately reminded me of All The Truth That's in Me, which is one of my favorites, so that's a good sign! I'm really glad you liked this one, the writing and pacing sound great and it's awesome that it left you thinking.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm glad you liked this book, since it's one of my most anticipated. I'm excited to read it.

    ReplyDelete

I truly appreciate every comment I receive and I make an effort to reply to each comment and comment back on your blog!