August 3, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
416 pages
Published May 5th 2015
Bloomsbury Children's
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I finally read ACOTAR! I didn't get it when it came out because my TBR was huge, but then I couldn't wait anymore, and I am so so glad I picked this up. Lets discuss why.
First, the premise. It's basically a really hot retelling of Beauty and the Beast, so I was like, sign me up. Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney movie and this take on it was amazing. So, basically, our main girl Feyre kills a wolf and according to an old treaty, she has to pay with her life, so she goes to live in Faerie territory with a superhot fae named Tamlin.

Now, the characters. Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien and Rhysand. Sarah J. Maas is just so talented at creating these perfect, beautiful, complex, unique characters. Feyre was my least favorite of our main characters (I seem to be having a thing where I don't like the main character much.) She was a bit annoying because she couldn't follow a single command, although I'll admit it wouldn't be as much fun to read if Feyre just listened to everything Tamlin and Lucien told her to do. Tamlin was so great though, he was sweet and hot, but I adored Rhysand. Rhysand is my favorite character in this trilogy so far. Probably because I have a weakness for arrogant, beautiful boy characters even if they are a little evil. Rhys was just perfection and I want to claim him for myself. He’s so complex, and beautiful, and perfect. Right now, Rhysand is who I want Feyre to end up with, but if she doesn't I wont be too upset because I will gladly claim him for myself. I'm going to stop talking about Rhys now (because I could just keep going and going) and move onto Lucien. I loved his friendship with Tamlin, and he was so witty. Plus, every character had such a heartbreaking, wholly individual backstory.

There is biting. There is passionate kissing. There is touching. There are lots of sexy-hot-steamy times. There are amazing characters, there is a beautiful setting, and there is suspense and action. So, I URGE you to GO AND READ THIS BOOK, PLEASE.


Before I leave I would just like to share this single text post from tumblr user titusconstantinos (even though I adore Rhysand I found this very amusing):

"rhysand more like whysand as in why are you like this stop breaking the otp "


My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Let me know your thoughts on ACOTAR if you've read it!

2 comments:

  1. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed this one! I've wanted to read this one for a while and I recently won a copy. Hopefully I'll get around to it soon. Great review!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for reading!

      Delete

I truly appreciate every comment I receive and I make an effort to reply to each comment and comment back on your blog!