August 10, 2015

Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
384 pages
Published July 7th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Young Adult | Mystery | Thriller
Purchased
Goodreads | Amazon
5/5 Stars
This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather's ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess's classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.
This book, HOLY SHIT (Excuse my language). I thought I had somewhat figured it out while I was reading, but I was totally wrong. It was so shocking and kept me guessing until the last page. I am a sucker for books set on the political scene, and I love suspense and mystery, therefore, I was sold on this book from the second I read the synopsis.

I really like Tess (our main character) because she is truly a strong independent girl who isn't focused on a boy (not that being focused on a boy is a bad thing), but she's been through a lot and has her sights set on her relationship with her sister, and her friends. Tess is also very intelligent and totally badass. She hates bullies, and stands up for the kids who seem to need it most. I really admired her character. Plus our secondary characters are amazing too! Asher, who loves explosions and is also very funny. Henry, who seems rude at first, but as we get to know him we learn there's so much more to his story, and Vivvie, the extremely energetic and bubbly friend. They were all very well written side characters.

Another thing that was awesome about this book was that there was absolutely no romance. None whatsoever, yet the book was still so badass and intriguing. I actually think this is the first book I've read without a romantic relationship. It definitely proves a book can be captivating without a love interest or romance. There was never a point in The Fixer where I found myself wanting a romance either, because the plot is so gripping and engaging.

I believe this is supposed to be a duology (based on Goodreads) and I can't wait to see what's in store for the second book! Jennifer Lynn Barnes is so good at throwing curve ball after curve ball and The Fixer has so many twists you'll never see coming.


4 comments:

  1. All I've heard about this book are good things. I'm really excited for it. And you're right: There are few YA books with no romance, so that got me even more intrigued. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank You! I definitely recommend this because it's so good even without the romance which was surprising because I LOVE romance.

      Delete
  2. Woohoo, so glad you loved this book! I'm not usually into books without romance (I'm just a really big romance junkie, okay), but it sounds like this book really works without one! It's always great when an author is able to flesh out not only the main character, but also make the secondary characters likable and convincing. Wonderful review, Sam! I hope you're able to get your hands on the sequel before the release date or something. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I never thought I'd pick up a book without a romance but here I am! I'm also a huge fan of truly lovable secondary characters. Thank you for the thoughtful commentt!!

      Delete

I truly appreciate every comment I receive and I make an effort to reply to each comment and comment back on your blog!